Skip to content

Bow, Tag & Bag It! Day 3 of Blog Tour

November 21, 2009

Hello Again, Hope you are loving all the ideas on this blog tour as much as I am.  My head is spinning with all the ideas that need to be put down on paper ~ Like the Holiday season is not busy enough already!  Today I have made a (yes, quick again, my favorite) quick last minute gift wrap / bag.

Bow, Tag & Bag It side shotIf you ever need a bow & don’t have one but have some wrapping paper left this does wonders & saves a trip to the store for that Bow you need to dress up your gift.  I took some Designer Series Paper (DSP) & cut 8 – 6″ stripes 3/4″ wide, then 4 more at 5″ long & one more at 4″ long.  I laid out 4 – 6″ with one pattern up then laid out the last 4 – 6″ pieces with the other pattern up.  Then laid the 5″ strips out with the pattern up matching the first set of 4 & then laid the last 4″ strip with the pattern matching the 2nd set.  Then I applied SNAIl to one end of each strip.  Then looped each strip around to make a section of your bow & made a circle loop with the 4″ piece.  Then I punched a 1/16″ hole in all the pieces & took a Jumbo brad & started with the small circle loop then layered the 5″ strips then added the next 4 – 6″ pieces in the opposite patterned & then finally added the last 4 – 6″ strips & closed the brad (very tight fit but works).  Click HERE for directions because I’m sure I did a very bad job at explaining this.  When I was done with the Bow I went on to make a matching

bow close up tag.  When you make your own bows you can make everything to match.  I used the Level 2 Hostess stamp set Christmas Punch.  I inked the scallop oval image with the poinsettia in the center with the Old Olive ink pad.  I then took a blender pen & removed the Old Olive ink from the outside scallop edge & the poinsettia flower in the center.  You have to go over these images several times & wipe of the excess ink on the blender pen.  You also have to “huff” on your inked image to keep the ink moist.  Once you have the ink removed I then took the Real Red Stampin’ Write Marker & colored those images in that I just removed the Old Olive ink from.  I “huffed” on the inked image one last time to make sure the ink was moist & stamped the image on Whisper White card stock.  I then punched it out with the Scallop Oval punch.  I punched a Wide Oval out of some scrap Old Olive card stock & layered the two together with a little bit of an off set.  I then took the 1/16″ circle punch thru one of the small circles in the edge & ran some Gold Elastic cord thru the tag & tied it thru the bow.tag close up I set those items aside & started on the gift bag.  You can use any gift bag you would like.  I measured the front of the gift bag & took a piece of the DSP & added 1/2″ to the width so I would have something to over lap & add SNAIl to.  I cut the piece a little off center & flipped one piece over, so now I had the two different patterns.  I put Snail on & worked over the bag when I was sticking the two pieces together so I would know how far to over lap the pieces of paper.  Once the two halves were together I added a piece of Old Olive ribbon down the center.  I then put Snail on the back of the DSP & then applied the DSP to the front of the gift bag.  Once I had that on the bag I put a Stampin’ Dimensional to the back of the bow & stuck the bow onto the top of the bag.

So there you have it ~ Bow, Tag & Bag It! for those last minute gifts that you forgot about.  You could make these bows with wrapping paper as well so if you had a birthday present that needed to be wrapped you could then have a “true matching bow”  Bow, Tag & Bag It

Remember I have way too many ideas to share so I will be sharing more after the blog tour is over so be sure to come back & check them out.  Now you can make your way over to Jan’s Blog & see what tricks she has up her sleeve.  Just click the link below & Santa’s little Elves will magically take you there.Thanks for stopping by & have fun on the rest of the tour.  See you at the next “Post”

Candyce

Supply List (if you would like to order anything below to complete this project go to Bentley Spring Stamper & click on Shop Now)

  • 114889 Scallop Oval Punch
  • 112082 Wide Oval Punch
  • 101227 1/16″ circle Punch
  • 104430 Stampin’ Dimensionals
  • Ribbon 5/8″
  • 102845 Blender Pens
  • 100052 Real Red Stampin’ Write Marker
  • 112534 5/16″ Jumbo Brad
  • 115696 Christmas Jingle Simply Scrappin’ Kit
  • 100730 Whisper White Card Stock
  • 100702 Old Olive Card Stock
  • 115366 Christmas Punch level 2 Hostess stamp set
  • 109867 Gold elastic cord
  • SNAIl
  • Gift Bag
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy Baummer permalink
    November 21, 2009 11:52 AM

    I love the colors in this bag. It is beautful. The bow that matches is a good idea and makes it look as if you bought it. I’ll try to make a bow of my own today.

  2. November 21, 2009 10:15 PM

    Love the bow! It’s so colorful– a great way to say that someone is special enough for a homemade bow!! TFS!

  3. November 21, 2009 11:48 PM

    Yes, I am loving the ideas. Your gift bags are adorable!

Leave a Reply

